Recruitment for intake 2023 has closed. Follow our Facebook page for updates on intake 2024, opening during the second half of 2022.

About Andreas & Susan Struengmann Foundation

In 2007, the Andreas and Susan Struengmann Foundation was established to sponsor educational initiatives, currently focused in the Western Cape. The Foundation has undertaken three key initiatives to date: Students for a Better Future Programme, the construction of the Disa Primary School in Imizamo Yethu (opened January 2012), The Sue Struengmann Initiative in partnership with the University of Cape Town, and The fourth initiative is a collaborative high school scholarship programme focussing on pupils from Disa, managed by the team at Students for a Better Future, in partnership with Groote Schuur High School.

About Disa Primary School

Disa Primary is the realisation of a vision by Andreas and Susan Struengmann in partnership with the Western Cape Education Department (WCED) to educate and shape the lives of the children in the greater Hout Bay area. Disa Primary School is a community-focussed school which supports the communities of Imizamo Yethu and Hangberg.

Disa Primary School opened its doors as a no-fee school in January 2012 to 260 Grade R to Grade 2 learners. It is intended to be a centre of educational excellence where children are given the chance to articulate and be supported in the realisation of their dreams. It has since grown to support a maximum of 750 children, including a meal-scheme, where children can learn, engage and thrive in a safe environment with modern educational tools and passionate teaching staff.

“Disa Primary is a school of excellence and it allows children to reach their full potential and to become the best they can be.”

About the Disa High School Scholarship

The Disa High School Scholarship was started as a scholarship programme to provide a continuation high school education opportunity for deserving Grade 7 candidates from Disa Primary School. A partnership agreement was signed with Groote Schuur High School, as well as accommodation for boarders in their hostel, Monorgan House. Our first cohort joined them in 2018.

As of September 2020, the Disa High School Scholarship was fully integrated into Students for a Better Future’s programme, managed and supported by the SBF team.

"SSI focusses on interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental health problems among children & adolescents."

About the Sue Struengmann Initiative

The Sue Struengmann Initiative (SSI) was formally established in July 2020. The purpose of the SSI is to address the mental health implications of childhood and adolescent adversity and trauma by providing a base for research, capacity building and policy development. This initiative seeks to ensure the provision of high-quality interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental health problems among this vulnerable group. The Initiative is housed in the Alan J. Flisher Centre for Public Mental Health (CPMH), Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, University of Cape Town and all activities are overseen by the SSI Advisory Board.